2009 Mission Statement

As I stated previously at our Christmas Party, “It’s been an exciting year!” But I guarantee that 2009 will be just as exciting and challenging, if not more.  I truly feel that Newsong is changing for the better. There is an energy that has been charging up this past year and feel it is ready to be utilized by God in 2009. But before I share with you the Mission Statement, I need to preface it with a story.

CAM has been the main catalyst for change in my life.  I had grown up in a church all my life and felt I had a strong foundation, but my faith was based upon knowledge and rituals. I knew more than most of my peers regarding theology and biblical teachings. I even taught and discipled Jr. High kids at my church. But when the fires got hot and the ground began to shake, my faith was found to be weak.

During my early college days (Mid 1990s), I went through a traumatizing season of tragic events. I believed that there was a GOD and Jesus that saved me from my sins, but I was overcome by Anger, Resentment and Rejection of the Gospel. I chose to believe that GOD could not truly love me because if he did, there is no way that GOD would make my family go through what we went through. At my darkest hour, I even believed that Jesus’ death was not good enough proof that GOD loved me.
Today, I am a totally different person.

I am who I am today because of Newsong’s Creative Arts Ministry. It was what drew me to Newsong and what eventually brought me back to the Father. I am the PRODIGAL SON. I am the MISFIT. I still remember the Newsong NOC preview service with Steve Fee leading worship and Keith Page sharing his story. I was blown away by the rawness of his story and the production of the service. It really peaked my interest.

Then I somehow got connected to Newsong Irvine and started volunteering for the production team.  However, I was only attending when it was my turn to serve. Then Andres Chou started a CAM small group [BSGE] and invited me to join. There began my journey back to the open arms of our Father. Through this COMMUNITY, I really started to open up and deal with my issues.

Then came the Good Friday service. I was the video director for that service. As I was directing, cueing up videos and camera shots, the air felt rich. It was transcendent and powerful.  So powerful in fact, that I decided to set the video feed to a DV7 clip (Motion Graphics for those who are not in production), walk down from the booth, kneel before the cross in tears and begged for forgiveness for thinking Jesus was not proof that GOD truly loved me.

My life changed from then on. A few months later, I was EMPOWERED by the staff to lead and execute the development of the 40/40 Film Festival. Then I was invited to join staff as the Media Arts Director.  Then I started dating the CAM Admin, Tina, whom I married within 9 months. Most recently, we had our beautiful daughter Sophia, who arrived as I transitioned into this new role as the Creative Arts Director. God is good, isn’t he?
Now what is the purpose of this long story? This story… My story is what the mission statement is based upon.

“We are a THIRD CULTURE COMMUNITY of MISFITS that LOVE, LEARN and SERVE who, with our God-given talents and guidance, are EMPOWERED to CREATIVELY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.”

I’m hoping we will create Awe-inspiring moments where people can truly experience God instead of just knowing stories about Him.

We have a lot to look forward to this year. I will use this blog to celebrate our achievements, clearly communicate updates within CAM, and get to know every member of our team.

Thank you all for being a part of this team. What you do makes a difference! You did in my life!

~ by Sam Song on December 31, 2008.

2 Responses to “2009 Mission Statement”

  1. […] For me it was 3 AM of New Years Eve. I seem to always have these type of sleepless nights every year around this time. Last night, I wrote a mission statement for the Creative Arts Ministry of Newsong, which I am the director of. It was supposed to be a quick post, but ended up becoming an intimate retelling of my story. To read it on Newsong CAM’s site, Click here. […]

  2. that’s a good mission statement. I like it

Leave a comment